More than a market town
Brecon Town sits at the confluence of three rivers, the Usk, Honddu and Tarell, at the Heart of the Park in the Brecon Beacons National Park. The town nestles in the foothills of the Beacons which boast the majestic Pen-y-Fan at 886m above sea level. Visit the Cathedral, take in a show, buy fresh local produce, take a leisurely stroll or cycle or enjoy some retail therapy. The choice is yours!
Brecon is steeped in history dating back as far as the Iron Age. The town has a strong Norman influence with the ruins of the Castle, built within 25 years of the Norman conquest and the impressive Cathedral. The name Brecon, is traced by scholars from the 5th century Brychan through Latinised spelling such as Breconia to Anglo-French Brecon.
Brecon was granted ins borough charter in 1276 by Humphrey de Bohun, Earl of Hereford and Essex, Constable of England and Lord of Brecknock and in 1411 the Borough of Brecknock received a Royal Charter from King Henry IV granting it is status as an officially recognised town. This paved the way for Brecon to become the centre of a thriving local wool industry, and was subsequently named as on of the four ‘Local Capitals’ for Wales in the Act of Union of 1536.
Developments during Tudor, Elizabethan and subsequent periods can be seen in Buckingham House and Havard House (1556) in Glamorgan Street and at Newton House (1582). The Guildhall (1624), originally a butter market, signified the movement of power away from the Castle to the Town and is home to the current Town Council chamber and Adelina Patti Theatre.
Brecon Beacons National Park Tourists